I used to ‘think’… but now I THINK!

One of the first tasks that was I was required to do before this blog went live was giving it a title. The URL was easy enough – I thought about the easiest way to refer to it, and Mr Kuran’s Blog is essentially just that. But a title… now that requires some thinking.

Over the past few weeks I’ve been fortunate enough to spend time reflecting over my first term as a PYP teacher, attending a three-day conference called ‘Making The PYP Happen In The Classroom’ and collaborating with some amazing professionals from around the city, the country and the world.

I used to think that teachers would only talk to each other in the staffroom, in offices and ocassionally at the back of the school for a secretive cigarette and coffee. That was in the 90s when I was growing up, finishing my primary school years and rather naive! Now I think that teacher collaboration and communication is at the very forefront of 21st century education.

I used to think that the role of the teacher was to teach, manage behaviour and mark tests, while the student was to listen, do, and do again. Now I think that we are all learners, and students are at the centre of the learning process, while teachers should facilitate learning rather than dictate or indoctrinate.

I used to think that good teachers kept the class quiet. Now I think the best teachers have the most active learning spaces where learners are creating, questioning, inquiring, reflecting and take risks.

I used to think that the best students could do everything by themselves. Now I think that student learning is best when it is collaborative, purposeful and unrestrictive.

 

I used to think that we ‘did’ inquiry’. Now I think that inquiry ‘happens’.

For me, the first step into inquiry, has been thinking.

Below is an image one of my students created of me with my thinking face:

Capture

About Dean Kuran

I'm a primary school teacher at an IB PYP school in Melbourne, Australia. I believe in establishing positive environments in which students can develop confidence and curiosity, while nurturing the skills that will benefit them outside of the learning space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

