Seven Signs You’ve Become a PYP Educator

  1. You don’t use the word ‘student‘ – the term ‘learner‘ has become so much more profound in your dialogue
  2. You don’t plan ‘lessons‘ – you inspire critical thinking, curiosity and inquiry through engaging provocation

  3. You don’t wait for simple answers – you look for great questions that lead to further inquiry

  4. You don’t pretend to know everything – you’re on a child-centered learning journey toward international-mindedness

  5. You don’t teach in a classroom – you establish an inspiring learning space that is not confined by walls and promotes global-connectedness and understandings

  6. You don’t limit yourself to assistance from your staffroom – you make connections with a global professional learning network with whom you share, collaborate and celebrate your practice

  7. You don’t ‘do tests‘ – you provide learning experiences that lead to student-initiated action

When did you know YOU had become a PYP Educator?

About Dean Kuran

I'm a primary school teacher at an IB PYP school in Melbourne, Australia. I believe in establishing positive environments in which students can develop confidence and curiosity, while nurturing the skills that will benefit them outside of the learning space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Seven Signs You’ve Become a PYP Educator

  1. Jason Graham says:

    Hi Dean

    I can relate to all 7 here.The biggest of the 7 and maybe most important for me has been becoming a connected learner. Ive learned SO much from my network (like when you helped me out 2 weeks ago when I tweeted out) 🙂 I think I knew I had become a PYP educator when I stopped STARTING with the planner and started first by talking about the learning.

    Hey btw.. I used your great ideas you gave me 2 weeks ago in my class..and the learners are loving it, lots of authentic inquiry going on. Thanks mate.

  2. Hi Dean, I can’t argue with those 7 and you have done well to reflect these early on in your PYP ride. I think all 7 of these remain something we continue to aspire to in a PYP environment, regardless of how long we have been doing it. I think the key to all of this is remaining firm in your recognition that outcomes for students remain at the centre and that these outcomes are not just identified in imperial data, and may not be fully reflected until the students are unleashed into the world. Keep up the great work and keep on sharing with us!

  3. learningtowearthebigshoes says:

    Great post Dean! I think the ‘Aha’ moment for me came as I started mentoring and leading other teaching professionals both in school and further afield in developing their own PYP practice. Before that I think I was just doing what I do in my classroom – and thought everyone else was doing the same.
    The realisation that I was actually a PYP Educator was when I was asked to help guide some of our new staff through their PYP learning journey. I guess a little like the “you don’t know what you know, until you know it”
    Have a great year!
    Tania

  4. Thanks for sharing your ideas here Dean. If you are only a second year teacher it sounds as if YOU have been on an amazing learning journey yourself this year – how I wish PYP had been around when I was starting teaching! I also agree with Jason about being connected to a vibrant community of learners – it has changed me so much as an educator.

  5. cbeddows81 says:

    Superb post and reading. This is the start of my 7th year working with the PYP so I could relate to my early forays into the programme and getting confused by the ‘jargon’! I especially like you second point about planning and getting out of the mindset of planning everything for weeks in advance.

    I think I knew I had become an PYP educator when I started thinking about concepts and really understanding the role they play in allow learners to access information at a deeper level. Moreover, when I developed the planning of assessment activities that asked the learner to apply this understanding in different contexts.

    I am still learning everyday and developing good practice and finding good ideas (usually through #pypchat)!

  6. What a great post, Dean. I found myself smiling and nodding in agreement while reading. I hope you don’t mind if I share this with my colleagues – I’m sure they’ll enjoy the connections. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Well put and nicely said!

    Of course, who says that PYP has a monopoly on that kind of learning? Instead of saying “signs you have become a PYP educator” maybe it should be something like “signs you have become a learning centered educator”. PYP is a system. Learning is an organic process.

  8. Rita Austin says:

    Well said Dean. Having taught for many years it made me just stop and look at what I do and see it written so succinctly and clearly. Guiding learners is the the key to help them achieve their best and gain insights into themselves as learners – a life long skill.

  9. When we started spending more time on our central ideas, lines of inquiry and provocations in planning sessions rather than planning specific learning experiences.

Leave a Reply

