Using Google Forms To Collect Data About Students’ Home Reading

This year I’ve been exploring the use of Google Forms as a way of collecting assessment data from my students. Rather than spend a lesson of my release time flicking through learning journal and checking for signatures, the Form above was something I cooked up with the students in about 10 minutes during our Library session earlier this term. I asked them, ‘If you were a teacher, what would you want to know about how, what and why your learners are reading at home?‘ We came up with some ideas together, and this became our weekly home reading self-assessment.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 10.32.29 am

Using the response Spreadsheet that is automatically generated, I am able to see all the responses from my students, as well as a breakdown of their self-assessments, e.g. more than 50% read at least 2 books form the library this week; there are some new words that they can use in their narrative writing pieces; not many students read non-fiction books; some students need more explicit teaching for giving a summary.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 10.32.49 am

Now, I will have real-time data about their reading, and the results can be integrated into our numeracy lessons as we are looking at how data can be collected, organised and presented!

Furthermore, each week I can direct my focus questions to our class focus as well, e.g. What text connections did you make? What was the main idea of your text? Which books did you read that might relate to our unit of inquiry? Were any of your predictions for your book correct? What was the author’s purpose in your book?

I email an embedded link of the Form to my students (and Bcc their parents so they are involved in the learning process as well) each Tuesday morning for them to complete on a Tuesday night. I have found it to be an engaging way to reflect on their reading, and have already found that the volume, quality and level of their reading is beginning to increase.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 10.33.03 am

This is one way which I am adhering to my personal goal of implementing routines and structures to better manage myself and my students thus maximising use of class time for effective learning.

Screen Shot 2015-03-11 at 10.24.52 am

How do you use Google Forms to enhance your teaching and learning?

About Dean Kuran

I'm a primary school teacher at an IB PYP school in Melbourne, Australia. I believe in establishing positive environments in which students can develop confidence and curiosity, while nurturing the skills that will benefit them outside of the learning space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Using Google Forms To Collect Data About Students’ Home Reading

  1. Megan K says:

    This is a great idea! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pingback: 5 Ways Google Apps Saved My Life In First Term | My Inquiry Teaching & Learning Journey

Leave a Reply

