Time For Action

Ambition is the path to success. Persistence is the vehicle you arrive in. – Bill Bradley

Most of my blog posts are reflective but this time I’m thinking about my own ‘action’.

I’m often looking around for ways to extend myself in any way – I don’t like to ‘settle’. I don’t have an end-game.

In a previous life, I coached a group of Under-10 boys in a basketball team. Then I coached two teams. Then four. I maxed out (of hours in the week) at eight. Eventually I gained enough experience through coaching kids from Under-8 to Under-18 that I explored coaching seniors.

But perhaps the best part of that role, apart from seeing a child score their first basket, a team get their first win, was working with younger coaches to assist in refining and strengthening their craft. This led to more operational responsibilities but still I got a real kick out of seeing their progress. To this day some of those boys and girls are still coaching – and that is a win in itself.

So here I am today. Still ambitious and still looking to extend myself.

I’ve started to explore Masters of Education programs in International Baccalaureate, ICT and Leadership – so many different pathways that I’d love to tackle.

Over the past twelve months I’ve been caught up in a Google Apps for Education storm. I’m really excited to apply for the new Google Education Certified Innovator program. I’m going to spend the coming months thinking about how I can present the ways that I empower my learners with technology and foster a culture of innovation in our learning space.

These holidays I’ve been reading Eric Sheninger’s book Digital Leadership. It has been a great follow-up to EduTECH in June and the inspiration drawn to drive positive change with my teaching and learning. Though I’m not a ‘leader’ by title in my school by any means, it is something I’m passionate about and excited to (hopefully) explore one day. It has jolted me into thinking about ways I can be, at the least, a digital leader, by modelling appropriate practices, creating opportunities for my students to be creative and innovative – stay tuned for a new project – and becoming more involved with key stakeholders.

I feel fortunate that I’ll be running a workshop about blogging for transdisciplinary learning and hosting our internal TeachMeet on Conference Day next week. I love sharing what I do with others, especially my colleagues. One thing that stuck with me from EduTECH was stated profoundly by George Curos  – ‘We as educators have a moral obligation to share what works.’

There’s a lot going on here. That’s okay. It’s exciting. Maybe it will all happen. Maybe it won’t. But I won’t die wondering.

After all… I’m just learning!

About Dean Kuran

I'm a primary school teacher at an IB PYP school in Melbourne, Australia. I believe in establishing positive environments in which students can develop confidence and curiosity, while nurturing the skills that will benefit them outside of the learning space.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Time For Action

  1. whatedsaid says:

    “You can lead from anywhere” well used quote by… Me.

Leave a Reply

